Can anyone tell me what engine this is

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dougyjj

Reaction score
showphoto.php
Hey guys,
I'm new to nissans and got a picture of a d21 under the hood here. No idea what type of engine it is, the bloke has said he thinks its a 1.8 or 2.0 but didn't know what type etc. If anyone can help this would be great. Sorry for the crap pic should have better ones by friday if this isn't enough.
cheers, Doug.

Last edited:
Sorry i'm new to this and can't seem to figure out how to show the photo properly but i managed to upload it to my profile.

Pre-88 Z engine. Is it in a 4x4? It'll be a Z24 if it is. 2.4L. You can always check the data plate on the driver's side guard, that engine would be original.

Yeah mate its an 86' 4x4 king cab. At first i thought it was a 2.4 then i was told it was a 2.0 or 1.8 by the seller, which started making me think it may have been a old transplant. I pick it up this arvo needs a bit of work though. Ill have a closer look and check the plate tonight

It is possible that it's a Z20 block, head and internals with Z24 outer parts bolted onto it. It'd be bloody slow. The Z20 came out in the 2wd so they'd be cheap to get hold of.

The Z18 is less common. Seems like some were imported from Japan.

yeah the bloke im getting it off mentioned it wasn't going to win any races. I just couldn't go past it for 600 bucks. i'll keep posted on what i find out and what my plans are. eventually want to do a bit of 4bying and make up a camper cab for it so i'm gonna need a bit more power me thinks.

I'm planning on pulling the KA24E out of mine, so it will be on the market at some stage. Perhaps with a local to help me, it might happen a bit faster :)