Help Needed - Welding Temperature

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wes570

Reaction score
not sore if this is where i should post this but fill free to move it. i was just wondering if anyone could tell me at what temperature you would weld 25x25x1.6mm thick tube?:confused2:

About 1500 degrees. dont know how that will help you but. i assume your asking for welder settings each welder will be difderent but aim about 150-180 amps probly for a start. depends how you weld aswell i like to weld superhot

Welding 1.6 tube super hot will just blow holes in it. I hope your not building sliders with it, they won't last long. Do some test welds first, if you blow holes in it turn the welder down a bit

im no expert but i would have said maybe 80 amps. as scotty said do some test welds first.

i welded up a little bracket for my intercooler today. 3mm thick steel on 120amps with good penetration.

Welding 1.6 tube super hot will just blow holes in it. I hope your not building sliders with it, they won't last long. Do some test welds first, if you blow holes in it turn the welder down a bit

no scotty im doing to make a slide on/off canopy to sute a d22 tub. any suggestions?

Why are you using such big shs. 25mm would be heaps. Just get a few bits to test weld. When welding it should sound like bacon and eggs on a fry pan. Are you welding with gas or gasless mig

Better off using 35x35 box imo that way if you want to put a rack on top of it you can. we make all our canopys out of 40x40 that way you can put pretty much whateva you want on top of them. usually have a sheet ally roof on them also so you can work on top of them that way you can run ladders off the roof etc. when wohs isnt around of course i dont think they would like an extension ladder fully extended from the top of a 2mtr high roof with some one hanging off the top of it :)