D40 Tailgate Hinges

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martinb

Reaction score
Hi all, As I am a newbie I apologies now for any wrong doings - but we all have to start somewhere.

Just wondering if anyone has had /knows issues with the D40 (2012 RX model) bending the tailgate hinges. It appears as though carrying a single offroad bike was the cause (However this was done multiple times and with 2 bikes in my Bravo with nil issues) Nissan have rejected my warranty query so I am getting ready to discuss further with them

Just doing some checks if anyone else has seen / knows of this issue.

Thanks in advance.

My hinges didnt bend but the tailgate itself. I have a spare tailgate in the back shed and its exactly the same.
Look along the bottem edge of the tailgate and you might see it curves our near the hinges
Nissan supplied packing plates as mine wouldnt close and there is no adjustment .
Mine was caused by letting the tailgate bounce open once too many times .

Hi Aussie Frontier thanks for the reply. I have checked but it is definitely the hinges that are bent. The metal is too thin and I think a poor design. My son is a mechanical design engineer (it was his bike on the back) he said the same thing. I will be speaking to Nissan this week - I am not expecting to get anywhere but this is spoiling what is a great ute. Guess I will have to do my own design and beef up the hinges.

Hey they must have made the tailgate stronger so thats a good thing.
When I looked at mine its basically just sheet metal and bugger all strength at all.
I first found out when the tailgate appeared to have dropped and was about 5mm lower than the sides .