D-Gas

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lance S

Reaction score
G'day guys,

As a newbie, i am 2 minds on whether to get a chip or go the gas. After heaps of research i decided to go the gas, but the only problem i have is that it hasn't been approved by the AAFRB in Victoria, but you can get it done in other states.

So my question is, is there anyone out there who has had it done or know of anyone who has had it done. Is it worth the gains supposely made by all the manufactures. They also state that you don't need to upgrade your exhaust and if you do it is only a 3-5% difference in gain in power.

cheers,

Lance

This is my opinion.

I wouldn't put gas through a motor where the engineers never thought of putting LPG into a diesel engine. I would consider it, if I seen 2 vehicles run till 500,000km's (1 diesel/gas and the other straight diesel) and open them up and see the difference in the condition of the motors. If they were the same or the LPG motor was in better condition.

As for the exhaust, add more fuel, more heat. Better exhaust will get the heat out faster and the turbo will spool quicker. Faster you get the heat out the less chance of melted piston's.

If you either gas it or chip it, intercool the motor aswell. Lower the intake temps to lower the egt's.

But thats just me.

Dave.

I've had the dgas system on my 05 D22 Nav for about 6 weeks now and I am massively impressed with the extra power and gain in economy. I also put a 2.5' system from the cat back at the same time.

Last week I did 450kms mainly country with combined around town. I had to overtake a heap of road trains in some instances 2 at a time and I had every confidence in pulling out and going for the overtake. I only used 38l of diesel and 12l of gas for that 450km.