D21 vs D22

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

psshhhht

Reaction score
Hey All,

Been looking at the prices of older Navaras and I'm finding that the older model D22s don't seem to be that much more expensive than a decent D21.

I much prefer the modern looks of the D22, but i was wondering what the differences are besides panels, and if they're worth the extra expense.

I'm after a 4x4 dual cab for some off-roading and camping/weekend fun. I don't really care too much if it's petrol or diesel, and if it's not turbo, i'll eventually be putting one on.

I don't want to go nuts with mods, maybe a couple of inches lift, some 31-33s and the previously mentioned turbo. Just something to have a lot of fun with, relatively cheaply.

What are your recommendations, D21 or D22 and why? And within each, what model would best suit my needs?

As you can no doubt tell, I'm a noob to Navaras.

Cheers,
Jer

Oh I forgot to give a price range... can't be more than $15K. Obviously the higher the initial price the less funds there'll be for mods.

I would go along with a d21 for a knock about weekender. Get them cheaper allowing more coins to modify it to suit your needs.
If it has a few dents and scrapes it doesn't really matter because from the description you have given here and in your introduction it will get some. Means you don't have to be too precious about it from the beginning.
Haven't answered your initial question though - someone will be along shortly and point out whats what.
Have a look at Deadly's D21 and a few other D21 builds here on the forum while your waiting.

I dont know too much about the D21 but...

considering your $15k budget and wanting to do some spending, I'd start looking at something like a D22 DX 3.0L turbo diesel. can get them pretty cheap, about $10k check out the link below.