2 wheel drive

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smole23

Reaction score
i just got my d21

i was driving it home and i filled it up and half a tank is gone would have drove an hour or so. i think i must have it on 4 wheel drive lol

how do i make in go on to 2 wheel drive i am a bit of a noob this is my first 4wd and i want to get in to it!!

i have the switches on the front wheels

lock and freewheel

and some switch on the dash lol

ill i know this a bit funny to you guys lol

Would be a total disaster if you drove it for an hour on tarmac in 4x4... The transfer chain will have to be replaced if not more. The two hubs should be flicked to "free" and the little stubby gear stick should be as far forward as it will go. There are instructions on the driver's sunvisor.

Yeah I'm thinking maybe you just had the hubs locked in. Half a tank for an hours driving seems extreme, might be some other issues there. Faulty fuel gauge?

Congrats on the purchase, mate, I don't want to sound condescending but go do a 4wd course. They can teach you a lot especially if you are new to 4wding. They should show you what to look out for inside and outside the vehicle.

Have fun!

Dosent sound like driving in 4wd is your only issue as mentioned above. also if you were in 4wd on tarmac for that long, that in itself is quite something. you would have noticed the transmission pulling you and making all sorts of noises.

in 4wds like the navara the transmission winds up and the energy needs to be released by the weakest / easiest means. whilst offroad the wheels just spin to release it, but the added traction of tarmac can break mechanical components, like transfer cases etc. it is always advisable to disengage 4wd as soon as you are re-entering tarmac and similar conditions.