which oils to use?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

noisy13b

Reaction score
hi, im new to all this i just bought a D22 3.0d 2002 STR 93,000kms and want to do a complete oil change engine, box diffs, just wondering if anyone could tell me what sort of oil i should use and how much oil does the engine take i heard it can take 8L is this right?

thanks
eddie

hi, im new to all this i just bought a D22 3.0d 2002 STR 93,000kms and want to do a complete oil change engine, box diffs, just wondering if anyone could tell me what sort of oil i should use and how much oil does the engine take i heard it can take 8L is this right?

thanks
eddie

There is not really any right or wrong answer to this as long as the oil is a diesel engine oil. Oil choice is down to you and what you consider to be affordable and required, any suggestions from other owners are really only their opinion. There is quite a number of those preferences already listed in these threads for Nav's in general as well as specific models.

As far as how much the engine takes the 09 D40 takes about 7 litres including the filter so it's possible that an 02 could take up to 8 litres and without being able to give you an exact answer I'd suggest it would have to be more than 5 since most oil companies sell 5 litre bottles (it's Murphy's law).

Last edited by a moderator:
Mate just check your logbook, The D40 has a very specific oil, 5 weight from memory, its like water. I'm not sure if the D22 has the same oil or not but it would pay to check before you buy any old oil off the shelf.

Brand preference is up to you.

There is not really any right or wrong answer to this as long as the oil is a diesel engine oil. ......

there is wrong oil with these.

DO NOT use CG rated oil on ZD30 motors.