Snorkles=cleaner air=bullshite!

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

4.8GU

Reaction score
Hey all just thought I would start an argument (topic) about peoples experiences with snorkles.

As some may be aware I work in the 4wd industry and there are those in the industry who may mock me for saying it but I believe that snorkles are marketed with some inflated claims.

Don't get me wrong I have had a snorkle fitted to my current vehicle but it was purely for the reason of keeping water out of the air intake and no other.

I have seen it over and over again with both my own vehicles and those that have come in to work for servicing that those with snorkles have always got far greater amounts of crap in the air box/filter than those without snorkles.

I just this morning took the filter out of my d40 for inspection after fitting a snorkle about 5k km's ago and it is sooo dirty compared to what it used to be for the same driving conditions.

I guess the point I am trying to get across is that even though in a small way my employment relies on selling/fitting these sort of things I would like there to be a bit more honesty involved with the pro's and cons of fitting a snorkle to your vehicle.
Remember there are a lot of those out there that have no experience and will listen to those who are supposed to know better. If they are getting sold a snorkle under the pretence of getting "cleaner air" to the motor I believe they are getting misled. After all 500 odd dollars could go a long way toward other things if you only want a snorkle for clean air and never really plan on using the vehicle in a wet environment. They are good insurance for water but that is the only thing I can say good about snorkles.

Just my oppinion but feel free to comment. I guess having a couple of beers after doing all the weekend chores is not a good idea!!! ha ha

Last edited: