Intercooler install ZD30

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kayoss

Reaction score
Im sure this has been discussed but i sure as hell couldnt find it. Curious to know if installing an intercooler on my 02 navara str ZD30 motor would require any other mods? Does it need a chip etc?

not necesarily chasing more power but have owned turbo sports cars where intercooler mods helped greatly. Afterall theres gota be some benifit having one opposed to not having one. Just was unsire if it would foul with any air fuel mix ratios, as i am only very new to the 4x4 diesel game. Any other mods i should be considering guys?

no other "must haves" required for the intercooler. Mine gave me a significant power and economy gain. Mine is the ASE kit.

kayoss - i put chip/exhaust/intercooler in one go and headed north towing 1500kg. By the time it got to about 35 degrees outside the heat coming back into the cab was scary. I think what was happening was the heat being lost by the front mount cooler was flowing back into the engine bay, only to be sucked into the intake again - recirculating the heat...
Even the air cleaner housing was in danger of melting. Even with the mods i lost economy and it made for a slow trip up. Coming back i travelled overnight just so the missus wouldnt end up medium rare in the passengers seat.

As soon as i could find one i put a snorkel on and it seemed to compliment the other mods perfectly.

Mine is intercooled with the same kit as Simon's and has had no dramas.

My Nav uses about 10L/100km's, I dont drive mine for economy though.

Dave.