D21 Questions, sr conversion

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

unkn0wn

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm new to Navaras, but have been playing with Nissan's for quite some time. I used to own a SWB MQ patrol and it was a blast.

I'm looking to buy a new 4wd and have been toying with the idea of the D21 Navara. My main aim would be to find a 5sp man King cab 4wd model to do a SR20DET conversion with.

From what I understand the Z24i / KA24E / TD272 all run the same gearbox, the 'FS5W71C'.

Question 1) Does this gearbox change at all, ie input shaft length change from engine to engine?

Question 2) do the gear ratios change and what are they (5 speed box)

Question 3) Does the cross member / engine mount location change from model to model?

Question 4) if they remain the same, will a sr20 bolt into the existing transition and existing cross member/engine mounts?

Question 5) if its like the patrol, the diff ratios will change from d to P. Is this true? what are the diff ratio's and which have lsd/open diffs?

Question 6) how much trouble is it to lift a d21 to the point where 33' tyres will fit without hitting?

Thanks guys/girls!

I cant remember what gearboxes the SR20's run, but you should be able to get an adapter made up to get the Navara transfer to bolt up.

But if it was me, I would get a YD25 gearbox and transfer and get an adapter made up to bolt up to the SR as the 2wd gearboxes dont hold up well in 4wd aplications.

Dave.

Hi there.

I'm looking to buy a new 4wd and have been toying with the idea of the D21 Navara. My main aim would be to find a 5sp man King cab 4wd model to do a SR20DET conversion with.

The King Cabs look really good. Just the right proportions or something. What would you use the resultant fast 4x4 for?

From what I understand the Z24i / KA24E / TD27 all run the same gearbox, the 'FS5W71C'.