Suspension Upgrades

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

namwens

Reaction score
Hey guys

I've got a 2.5L d22 and im looking at doing some upgrades on the suspension.

to start with, the ute currently has stock suspension.

the reason im looking to upgrade is that i want to start towing my track car around with the ute so i want to have some decent suspension in the rear that will be able to handle having a decent load on the back. being a complete newb when it comes to 4x4 suspension and towing, do i want to have stiffer shocks in the rear and stronger leaf springs?

now, the other reason i bought the navara is to do some mild off road stuff. so basically, is it going to be feasable to upgrade suspension for load and do a modest suspension lift at the same time, say 2 inch?

are there going to be different brands an different specific setups for heavy loads/off road stuff? I've had a look on zordos website. he sells a 50mm lift kit without mentioning a brand (looks like ironman in the picture though) which includes:

50mm UTE KIT
2 x Leaf Springs
4 x Shocks
Bush Kit, U/bolts
Greaseable Shackles -Not in Picture
Greaseable Pins -not in Picture
Torsion Bars- [optional] $300

Now, i've got a genuine nissan steel bullbar. I don't plan on upgrading to dual batteries or a whinch any time soon so is it worth upgrading the torsion bars at all?

any comment/suggestions are apprecaited.

I run Lovell leaf springs in the rear, they were $800 from memory or there abouts from Zordo, he was the only person that would sell me them.

Front runs Tough Dog torsion bars, $300 or there abouts.

Shocks, Bilstien all the way. Koni is the only other brand Id consider.

Dave.