96 navara gearbox issues

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

96navara

Reaction score
I have a 96 navara 4x4 dualcab with a blown gearbox. The car was origionally a 2.7l diesel but the motor was replaced with a 98 model qd32 and fitted with a dts aftermarket turbo, this was done before i bought it. I have found a reciept for the gearbox being reconditioned 10,000km before i bought it and i only got another 10,000km then had to get it rebuilt myself. after this i got a further 50,000km and it has blown again. I am wondering if this would be caused by the motor being mismatched to the gearbox. also if a box matching my motor will fit in my car. any help would be grately appreciated thanks.

Welcome to the forum.

While I'm no expert about that particular model, it does sound like it's had an awful lot of extra horsepower bolted on to the old box which would have been designed for a significantly tamer engine. 500cc of extra capacity and an aftermarket turbo is certainly going to raise the number of ponies involved.

I'd suggest a box designed for the 3.2 would be more appropriate. I don't know if it will fit, but then anything can be engineered if you work hard enough at it.

The question then becomes "how much money can you throw at it and still see value". I'd balk at tossing $10,000 at the thing to have the gearbox mounts shifted and a Hollinger box dropped in although if you wanted a '96 Navara that ate everything else on the road, that might be something worth investigating!

more info

The gearbox is FS5W71C, origional motor TD27, Bellhousing TD71C #1,
New Motor QD32055698, AXEL CA48.
Is this setup compatible or has something been missmatched because the gearbox has died twice in the last 65,000km

The QD32 usually runs the same gearbox as the ZD30's and YD25 etc.

Wait till Dion gets on here as he has done the swap.