TD27T overheating

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ajcmbrown

Reaction score
Hi all, noob here that needs some help.
I suspect that my 1996 D21 Navara 2.7 has a Terrano engine but I am not sure how to identify it from a NA 2.7 with an aftermarket turbo.

One of the reasons I suspect this is that it has a sensor on the thermostat housing that does not have a corresponding plug in the loom but could be from a different model I guess.

While some of the turbo components appear factory, some are definately homemade.

My problem is that when driving on the highway at 100-110kph the car runs great until I have a hill to contend with, then the temp climbs to above 3/4 on the gauge, then as I go downhill again, the temp returns to just below half on the gauge and stays this way until I get to another hill.

It is not using any water, and only heats up when under load on hills, at all other times it behaves flawlessly.

I have checked the radiator for blockages and water runs freely though it, then checked the thermostat in boiling water and it opens, but didnt have a temp gauge to test the temperature, the shroud is in good nick, nothing is blocking the radiator, the belts are tensioned but I havent checked the viscous coupling since I thought at that speed it would be having almost no effect anyway. My next step is to check the water pump, since the corrosion in the thermostat housing could be a clue as to the condition of the water pump impeller.