Total power loss

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rich64

Reaction score
Here's an interesting one, I was driving home yesterday, towing my caravan at about 93 kph, 100 indicated on the speedo, when the car just lost power and I had to pull over, Now I am a ham radio operator and was talking on the radio at the time and I suspect that rf from the radio might have interfered with the computer system? Once I pulled over I turned the engine off, restarted it and no problems, I drove the remaining 200k's with no issues, there were no extra lights on the dash or anything like that, so I assume it wasn't in limp mode, has anyone else had anything similar happen to them?

Sounds like it overboosted and went into limp mode. Heard of it a fair bit on earlier D40's.

I thought it might be limp mode except the implication was it was steady driving.

It's never happened to me before. Rich's D40 is 4 years old, and it's possible that there's an imperfect electrical connection somewhere, perhaps it's a battery terminal that's a little loose or has some corrosion in it.

I'd start there. Pop the bonnet and specifically look at the positive and negative battery terminals, remove and clean them (make sure you have the radio PIN handy, or use a jumper pack to keep the car's system powered). Also follow the negative lead down and make sure it's not damaged and firmly attached to the engine.

If that all looks okay, there are a number of fuses and relays in the engine bay that could suffer from exposure. I'd pull each of the relays out of the box that sits behind the battery and re-insert them - this should clean their contacts.

Start with that, hopefully one of them will reveal something a little out of the ordinary and you can come back and tell the rest of us so we know what to go checking under OUR bonnets!