Go Back   The Navara Forum > General Discussions > Main Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

  #11  
Old 09-03-2019, 07:14 AM
spiezzy spiezzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: helensburgh
Posts: 56
Default

Hi Tony thank you for your suggestions I gave it a try but to no success funny thing was when I removed radio and had everything off I turned on ignition to check radio and moved the selector over to manual mode and the Ds illuminated moved it back and forth and was working for a bit I put everything back together and it went off again so removed centre console and payed around with radio but nothing checked wires in harness and other connections put in all back together then the next day tuned ignition on and selected manual and it came on drove for a while in manual then stopped at service station turned off ignition filled up jumped back in turned ignition on but did not work again a mate checked the manual mode switch and up and down shift switches and they all seem to be woking his suggestion is the meter cluster itself is the issue the signal is failing from there boy this is frustrating well at least I know its not the selector somewhere between the selector and cluster or cluster itself
thanks again Tony for your help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #12  
Old 13-03-2019, 08:45 AM
spiezzy spiezzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: helensburgh
Posts: 56
Default

ok the issue with Manual/Sports mode is fixed it was the meter cluster the signal from the gear selector was being sent to the cluster but there is a fault in the circuit in the cluster itself I managed to source one from a wreckers for $120 and it was delivered today it took me 40min all up to change it over and to my delight it worked like a gem it is great to have the manual and sports mode back again Thank you Tony for your help through this it has taken me quite a few months to track it down but even with the other selector I purchased from a wreckers it still all up cost me around $250 .
now the transmission mechanic put the scan on it a while ago and it showed a fault with the manual mode switch it does not show a issue with the cluster he was going to replace the selector at a cost of $900 plus labour and i still would have had the same issue.
the only other thing is my milage is now 216000 km instead of 187000km so it is stored in the meter cluster it self don't know if it presents a major problem or not but what if you opted to buy a new one from nissan it would be 0km
anyway it is all good now and loving it
hope this can help someone in the future
cheers Pete
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 16-03-2019, 08:25 AM
spiezzy spiezzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: helensburgh
Posts: 56
Default

Update everything going fine I put the multi meter on the old cluster and went threw the 61 diodes on the circuit board and found the possible culprit and a dry solder joint might find a replacement diode and re solder the joint and see if it works just for the heck of it
will up date when I do this
cheers Pete
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 17-03-2019, 10:55 AM
Old.Tony's Avatar
Old.Tony Old.Tony is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mid Coast Region, NSW, Australia
Posts: 15,056
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Excellent news. Will be interesting if a touch of solder will beat a new cluster.


Thanks for keeping us updated.
__________________

Check out the FAQs by clicking here!



"Money can't buy happiness, but it does make misery a lot easier to deal with."
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old Yesterday, 12:26 AM
jasonstx550 jasonstx550 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiezzy View Post
Update everything going fine I put the multi meter on the old cluster and went threw the 61 diodes on the circuit board and found the possible culprit and a dry solder joint might find a replacement diode and re solder the joint and see if it works just for the heck of it
will up date when I do this
cheers Pete
Mate,has your issue with the selector stayed away.? We having been chasing the same issue at 2 different electricians plus 2 auto tranny shops,Have replaced the whole selector,bough a used transmission and changed the computer and valve body in my one,no different.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old Yesterday, 07:01 AM
spiezzy spiezzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: helensburgh
Posts: 56
Default

Hi Jason yep its all good now putting the new combination meter in fixed the issue my first thought was the selector unit but that was not the problem the manual switch when moved over to manual mode send a signal to the combination meter then to the TCM in the transmission there is a defective component in the circuit on the combination meter which was preventing the signal getting to the TCM I managed to find one at a wreckers for $120 it was easy to change it took me more than 6 months to find the solution as you I went to transmission mechs and they couldn't find out what was going on what symptoms are you experiencing ??
cheers Pete
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old Yesterday, 08:03 AM
jasonstx550 jasonstx550 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Default

ok thankyou for the info.

Have found 1 for sale at lansvale,so will buy tomorrow and fit over the next few days. Jason
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old Yesterday, 08:52 AM
spiezzy spiezzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: helensburgh
Posts: 56
Default

sounds good Jason the only downfall is the KLMS will show what is on the new one in my case I had 186.000 klm and the one I put in showed 216.000 nothing you can do about that but at least the manual mode works again with was more important to me let me know how you go
cheers Pete
ps if you are not sure about taking the drivers side dash off (you don't have to remove radio console) this YouTube Vid was a good guide https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhiF64HS7fQ
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old Today, 03:50 AM
jasonstx550 jasonstx550 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Default

update, put second hand cluster in,has fixed the problem,cant believe it ,have spent $2500 in the last 6 months at different shops to rectify problem
Cant thankyou enough for the info you have shared with me.

KMS on the new cluster are half what the original had on it so happy days.

More important for us is the manual mode for when we tow a boat going down bulli pass or ousley. Thankyou once again.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old Today, 09:31 AM
spiezzy spiezzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: helensburgh
Posts: 56
Default

Hi there Jason well I am glad your all sorted it is a shame that you spent so much money finding the problem as I did but only around $600 .
I only stumbled across it by accident reading the service manual for the 7 speed transmission and performing some multi meter tests did my head in but nailed to the cluster anyway you can move on with you stx550 and enjoy it again I love mine to death and do a lot of towing I am glad this helped you find you issue and sort it
all the best cheers Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:57 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |