Power Window Time-Out w/ Turbo Timer

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlackScorpion

Reaction score
Hi guys + gals,

Fairly new to this forum, I purchased an '07 D40 ST-X Turbo Diesel as a (much larger) upgrade from a Commodore few months back, and loving it so far!

There is one minor thing that bugs me though...in the Commodore I could turn the car off, remove the key, and still be able to operate my power windows for 30 seconds or so. Of course in the Navvy, I am unable to do that - accessories go off, so do the windows. I am constantly finding myself turning everything back on again just to close my windows!

I am an Apprentice Electrician, and after a bit of R&D looking for a work-around or a Timer/Relay circuit I could make up, the best possible solution I have come up with so far is a Turbo Timer.

Not knowing a great deal about them, I did a little research on them, and so far I have received mixed messages;
Some say accessories are 'powered-down' with the timer running, also I have read that I will be unable to lock the Nav with the timer running.
So I feel I am currently facing a bit of a catch-22.

Just wondering if any of you guys can give me a little more info, or in the case I have gone completely down the wrong track, share your workaround to solve this 'semi-annoying-but-not-a-major-issue' problem!

I apologise if this post/something similar has been covered before, but I did spend a bit of time searching the forum to no avail.

Thanks in advance! :)

It's true that the remote on your key won't lock the car while a turbo timer is operating, but there's a way around it (it's not a fix). Move the central locking button from the centre console to near the side mirror controls. Hop out of your car, taking the key, punch the LOCK button then 'auto up' the window. All tasks complete.