No acceleration past 2000rpm / Black smoke

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrew H PNG

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Have not found a similar issue like this anywhere in this forum except a few posts. But apologies if this was already discussed.

I have a Navara SE 6-Speed manual transmission 2WD and having this issue where I loose speed when reving past 2000rpm > there is no more power and > when depressing the accelerator pedal more, black smoke starts coming out of exhaust. It does that on all gears.

I'm fairly new to the operation of the engine so appreciate some advise on what to look at and what could be causing this.

Welcome to the forum!

Black smoke always means that the fuel is partly burning but can't finish the job because it's run out of air. Either there's too much fuel, or not enough air. Doesn't matter if it's petrol or diesel, that part works the same.

Here's the thing though - 2,000rpm is the magic figure (diesel engines) that the ECU refuses to let the engine go past when there's something wrong. It should be displaying an engine check light if it knows what is wrong, but if it's not showing the engine light, it's probably the SCV.

If it can rev beyond 2,000rpm it could be air issues (filter, turbocharger, intercooler, EGR). The turbocharger includes the vac hoses and control solenoid - although if yours is a post 2010 model, the actuator is electronic and may be faulty. Nissan did a recall on these back in 2010/2011 and replaced the electronic actuators.

If you haven't blocked the EGR, it's worth doing (unless there's no EGR emission control requirement in PNG).

Hi Old Tony,
Thanks for the welcome ��
Mine is a desiel engine and the 2012 model. So don't think I should be concerned about the recall you mentioned.