Go Back   The Navara Forum > D22 > D22 Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

ZD30 D22 hard to start
  #1  
Old 17-04-2011, 08:35 AM
NAV80's Avatar
NAV80 NAV80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default ZD30 D22 hard to start

Hey people

have just bought a 2006 D22 ZD30 with 59,000 kms on it...

I bought it unregistered as it needed a little bit of cleaning as it got caught slightly submerged in a storm.... have started the vehicle on and off the past 3 weeks of owning it... finally got around to getting it registered and yesterday took it on its first decent run.... (100kms each way) yesterday i pulled up at my partners place and once it cooled down and went to leave it was super hard to start.... I parked it up last night once i got home and took my landcruiser instead... I have attached a couple of videos to show what it is now doing

This video is the first time it has been started in 24hrs


As you can see it is hard to start and the tacho goes crazy... then the Engine light stays on. My partners brother and his partner both have D22's and both start with the flick of the key.

After getting it going in the previous video I drove it for 5 mins or so, shut it down and tried starting it again....


Easy as and no engine light..... this is not always the case... sometimes after stopping it and trying to start it again it carry's on like the first video.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 17-04-2011, 08:41 AM
Dave Dave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maitland
Posts: 1
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Checked the primer ?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 17-04-2011, 09:08 AM
NAV80's Avatar
NAV80 NAV80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default

Just checked it then... hasnt been started in an hour... got 3 pumps out of the primer and it went rock hard.... drained the water tap to, hardly any water in there...

It does how ever have this stupid little Ryco inline filter as well as a Ryco filter cartridge... might change that to a genuine Nissan me thinks....

Dave does your Tacho go spastic when starting it too?

Can i also add which i forgot to before the previous owner had a chip installed then removed it... and when i say removed it i mean cut the wires and too it out...

2 wires im not sure about... 1 grey one goes through and splices into the where the connector plugs into the accelerator pedal and another one spices into an existing wire on the injector pump :S


Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 17-04-2011, 09:22 AM
NAV80's Avatar
NAV80 NAV80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default

After the second video in my first post, I then (with the help of the missus) took a video to show its performance.... It is completely stock standard

Flat road with foot flat... to be honest i was expecting a bit more...
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 17-04-2011, 11:04 AM
Lasoya's Avatar
Lasoya Lasoya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Parmelia WA
Posts: 145
My Mood:
Garage
Send a message via MSN to Lasoya
Default

glow plugs??
__________________
03 D22 Nissan Navara STR- EFS 2" Lift kit, Intercooler, EFS HD torsion bars, 245/75/16 Bighorns, GME TX3200 UHF, EGR Mod,Airtec Snorkel, Stereo system, IPF spotlights, Apexi Turbo Timer, Greddy Oil Catch Can, Nokia Handsfree
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 17-04-2011, 11:07 AM
NAV80's Avatar
NAV80 NAV80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default

Hmmm, i made a couple more posts earlier, but they are not being displyed :S must have to wait for them to be approved as i attached videos to them.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 17-04-2011, 11:12 AM
Dave Dave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maitland
Posts: 1
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Id be pissing that Ryco petrol filter off. Its probably starving for fuel.

Nope, mine will easily crank over.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 17-04-2011, 11:14 AM
Dave Dave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maitland
Posts: 1
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Check those wire to and make sure there not earthing out.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 17-04-2011, 11:16 AM
Dave Dave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maitland
Posts: 1
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Actually, I just remembered.

Shonky who use to be on here said the Ryco fuel filters dont seal properly.

I only use genuine on mine so cant comment myself.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 17-04-2011, 11:26 AM
NAV80's Avatar
NAV80 NAV80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default

Yep plan on ditching that filter tomorrow... both infact!.... Also noticed that little petrol inline thing is between the factory filter and the I/pump... and has also been installed backwards... i.e the arrow on it is pointing the wrong way, dunno what effect that would have on it :-S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |