D40 overheating

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bong

Reaction score
recently while towing a 2 ton van the Nav started to run towards the red while going uphill. as soon as you start downhill it cools quickly. thermostat has been replaced, pressure tested and radiator core cleaned. The Nissan dealer has had one go at it along with a Diesel mech that did the thermostat. Seems to run o.k. when not towing the van, any ideas as I am a completely useless mechanic. It has been chipped, hotside pipe done and EGR block. Performes exactly the same but with less power if the chip is blocked off also.

theres not alot to the cooling system as you may know, if the thermostat has been replaced along with a nice cleaned out radiator plus a good working radiator cap the last thing which will cause your problem is the Clutch Fan. several guys have had your same issue and the cause was the clutch fan hub, not the fan blades but the main fan housing . so if your 100% positive the radiator has been cleaned pout correctly you no doubt need to replace this fan hub. don,t go to Nissan for one as you might fall over when they hit you with the price, try Ebay or aftermarket . sorry i can,t think of the correct name for this fan hub unit for the life of me.

Absolutely spot on guys. Happened to me - twice, only while hauling our caravan (2.5T). The stupid thing has more names than King Henry VIII had wives. Fluid couple, viscous hub, fan clutch, viscous clutch, fan coupler, fluid drive ... click here to see the one that I bought (from the place that I bought it). They post ... and it's a reasonable price.

Thanks

Thanks for the help, its at the dealer at the moment, service mgr and offsider are friends outside work so they should look after me. Hopefully.

Dayco clutch fan drives are good quality, about $169 from memory.