Navara D40 Turbo not working

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pvh

Reaction score
hey guys/ladies.
so im pretty new to the world of 4x4. i got myself a 2008 navara STX D40
it has been going pretty good besides the occasional limp mode but now the turbo seems to have stopped working. i had it tested and the guy said it is producing pressure so he is sure the turbo is ok but i have no kick, im driving a tractor. the car doesnt smoke, no rattles, it drives fine it just has no turbo, anyone have any idea what it could be? any advice will be appreciated

almost sounds like what mine was doing, felt like it had something wrong with the turbo, it did make some boost but high in the rev range and it wasn't much, drove like a slug.
ended up being the air flow sensor was stuffed, put a new one in and it was good again.

thanks mate!
i had the air flow sensor replaced to fix the limp mode thing. but i will have a look and tell the mechanic about it

Just pull the MAF sensor out (there is a thread on here now to do it) and give her a spray with some contact cleaner before you replace it. May just be really dirty?

If that is the issue you may want to look at why there is so much dirt getting through? How old is your air filter and what condition is it in?

+1 on the MAFS and +2 on the air filter. Might be an idea to plug in a Scangauge or an Android app like Torque to see what boost your ECU is reporting.

If you've got a snorkel, inspect the grille. If the grille is missing or broken, check for birds down the snorkel in around the bend inside the guard. Yes, it has happened before (an owl, I believe).

Also, if your running a K&N filter it is a good idea to clean the MAFS regularly as it tends pick up a fair amount of oil from the filter.