Go Back   The Navara Forum > General Discussions > Main Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

  #171  
Old 08-04-2014, 07:35 AM
blacklisted 550's Avatar
blacklisted 550 blacklisted 550 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: altona vic
Posts: 11
Default

how's about we somehow round up all the 550 owners on the site, and somebody with enough smarts drops the Nissan Australia FB page a post explaining the issue and its associated dangers, and see how many 'likes' and comments the post generates, like some sort of petition, dunno, may get their attention
__________________
stx blackline, 2'' tough dog lift/adjustable shocks, Caloffroad UCA's, dynamic +30mm offsets, 285 70 17's KM2's, deluxe bar with brush steps, snorkel, couple of ultima blue's up front, BD long range tank and 3 piece underbody guard kit, drop side steel tray. lil' bit of hotwirering to keep the manual mode honest. I MISS MY PATROL!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #172  
Old 08-04-2014, 07:40 AM
blacklisted 550's Avatar
blacklisted 550 blacklisted 550 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: altona vic
Posts: 11
Default

actually don't have to be 550 owners, sorry, but the greater 4x4 community will defiantly get on board, and we keep trying and posting until somebody listens
__________________
stx blackline, 2'' tough dog lift/adjustable shocks, Caloffroad UCA's, dynamic +30mm offsets, 285 70 17's KM2's, deluxe bar with brush steps, snorkel, couple of ultima blue's up front, BD long range tank and 3 piece underbody guard kit, drop side steel tray. lil' bit of hotwirering to keep the manual mode honest. I MISS MY PATROL!!!
Reply With Quote

Pin 16 on 4wd switch plug
  #173  
Old 15-04-2014, 06:12 AM
greensic greensic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default Pin 16 on 4wd switch plug

Quote:
Originally Posted by raptorthumper View Post
Am I still the only one who has done this mod on their V6 7speed Nav.? (starts page 12)


I use it every time I go 4 wheel driving.

_
Do you think putting 12 volts on pin 16 of the 4wd selector switch whilst leaving the switch in the 2wd position would do it?
Reply With Quote

  #174  
Old 15-04-2014, 08:33 AM
Iceman Iceman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 279
My Mood:
Garage
Default

A 550 would have to go out of control down a hill and prob kill someone before nissan would give a toss. I dont have a 550 and now i know i wont have one either!
Reply With Quote

  #175  
Old 25-04-2014, 08:05 AM
blacklisted 550's Avatar
blacklisted 550 blacklisted 550 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: altona vic
Posts: 11
Default

made up my lil gizmo box and used it over easter, made me extremely happy. is still a shit transmission in general, unless it's under load, shifts can be quite jerky i.e. just leveling out after a steep decent and you wonna bang it up a cog, it'll give out a lil clunk and lunge forward, up hill it's fine. might I add, this is my first and last auto 4x4
__________________
stx blackline, 2'' tough dog lift/adjustable shocks, Caloffroad UCA's, dynamic +30mm offsets, 285 70 17's KM2's, deluxe bar with brush steps, snorkel, couple of ultima blue's up front, BD long range tank and 3 piece underbody guard kit, drop side steel tray. lil' bit of hotwirering to keep the manual mode honest. I MISS MY PATROL!!!
Reply With Quote

  #176  
Old 03-05-2014, 01:54 PM
raptorthumper raptorthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 115
Default

I don't mind the firm shifts. The shifts are always firmer being in low range.


-
Reply With Quote

  #177  
Old 15-03-2016, 10:33 AM
Jnrsnav's Avatar
Jnrsnav Jnrsnav is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mernda
Posts: 251
Garage
Default

Hey all, pretty sure my 5 speed auto in my 2013 ST does the same thing. Where is the problem fix at??
Could wholesale autos fix the programming to solve the problem??

Any info would be great.
Reply With Quote

  #178  
Old 15-03-2016, 09:49 PM
LLadnar's Avatar
LLadnar LLadnar is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kurri Kurri, NSW
Posts: 1,301
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Nah wholesale autos can't or aren't interested in helping, I've contacted them and I'm sure others have too. I'm sure it can be done as it is the same gearbox as in the 370z and there are many aftermarket racing cpu's for them. But I'm not in a financial position to chase this up at the moment
__________________
2012 STX 3ltr V6 Diesel
ARB Deluxe Bar - Alpha Canopy - Drifta camping draws.
GME TX3520 UHF
Calmini 5" Lift Bilstein Rear Shocks
Radflo 2.0" Extended 5inch Coilovers
PRG Adjustable UCA's.
Dick Cepek FCII 285/70/17
ScottyBobCat Rock slides
Ironman bashplates

"We swear by the Southern Cross to stand truely by each other and fight to defend our rights and liberties"
Peter Lalor

"When Guns Are Outlawed - I Will Become An Outlaw"
Reply With Quote

Low range gear box woes
  #179  
Old 04-08-2016, 06:12 AM
curley121 curley121 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Queensland
Posts: 3
Default Low range gear box woes

Hi all. New to the group. I own a 550 and have been thinking that is a fault with my vehicle but after talking to Nissan and showing them the fix posted on page 12 (thanks for that), they said they can't fix it because it causes the vehicle to 'not conform to the specifications'. I asked for a copy of these specifications and, well, it seems they made that bit up. I am not mechanically minded and not brave enough to fix this myself. I might take it to an auto electrician. In the mean time, I have registered this as a safety issue with the Government because I believe this is an obvious safety issue, esp if you are going down steep banks. I will keep everyone posted of the outcome.
Reply With Quote

  #180  
Old 12-03-2020, 12:21 AM
navara1 navara1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2
My Mood:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raptorthumper View Post
Tony that's a perfect solution.

I had thought of going to the wreckers to get a second hand TCU loom with the connector on it, and doing what you say.

As long as you only press the switch on the right for 3 seconds everything is perfect. (motor stalls for a short period and draws higher current, when it hits the mechanical end stop)


I'm going to order the Jaycar switches and fit it to a plastic case kept in the centre console. I don't really feel like cutting holes in my centre console.

_
Hi,I probably should have checked prior to doing this wiring mod.
I have not been off road yet but it certainly holds the revs just test driving in a straight line.
Has there been any problems arise?
I have the 4WD indicator light come on every time I use the momentary switch. Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:34 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |