Go Back   The Navara Forum > D22 > D22 Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

No indercators or hazards
  #1  
Old 07-08-2019, 10:04 AM
Sullyduck87 Sullyduck87 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Default No indercators or hazards

Hello all. Virgin member here. So yesterday i lost my indercators and was a blown fuse, put another 10a and blew. Put a 20 in and worked fine for abit while going to auto place then smelt burning n lost them again. Didnt blow fuse but nothing. Its a 2008 d22 2.5lt. Now ive PULLED everything apart and located relay behind aircon unit. That was melted and abit of damage. Ive since replaced this but nothing... we have found that there is a constant feed of 12v going thru the indercator system but cant seem to find any other visible fault... is there a second relay as this one seems to be more for the hazard lights then indercators... thanks. Regards Sullyduck87
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 08-08-2019, 09:53 PM
Old.Tony's Avatar
Old.Tony Old.Tony is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mid Coast Region, NSW, Australia
Posts: 15,222
My Mood:
Garage
Default

There's a good chance that you've fried something else in the system. 20A is a fair bit of power to run through the wiring behind the dash, and heating it up to the point where you can smell it could easily result in the conductors in adjacent wires making contact with each other, forming an unpredictable connection.


You might have to examine the wiring looms more closely to see if that's happened.
__________________

Check out the FAQs by clicking here!



"Money can't buy happiness, but it does make misery a lot easier to deal with."
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-08-2019, 02:50 AM
Horatius Horatius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Aus
Posts: 203
Default

Obviously if you blow a fuse, you just need a bigger fuse, try a 30 amp! (joking).

The diagram shows circuit as ignition switch > fuse > hazard switch > blinker canister/relay thingy (lol) > column indicator switch > lamps. So the canister gets supply through normally closed contacts in the hazard switch (that open when it is pushed in).

It might be worth bypassing this and see if you have blinkers then, could have fried the contacts (assuming there was a fault in the canister/relay that was originally taking out the fuse?). It shows terminals 1 and 2 for this. It also lists the hazard switch as possible cause in "faultfinding -no blinker or hazard function". Something to try at least. At any rate with ign on and hazard switch off, you should have 12V at blinker canister. If you find this is ok, might be a problem in the column switch?

It also shows the hazard function itself uses different fuse to the blinkers (straight from battery, not through ignition switch), so if the hazards won't go after/if you get the blinkers going, it might be kaput also.

ps. there is another relay labelled "multi-remote control unit", guessing it is for indication re remote locking/unlocking for vehicles that have this. It's just in parallel with column switch and looks like you could remove it and make no difference, don't think it would have any bearing on blinker operation.

Last edited by Horatius; 09-08-2019 at 05:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |