Go Back   The Navara Forum > D22 > D22 Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

D22 ZD30 Egt gauge installation
  #1  
Old 20-10-2019, 10:03 AM
tristan.martin564 tristan.martin564 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: port augusta
Posts: 8
Default D22 ZD30 Egt gauge installation

hi, going to be installing an egt gauge into my D22 tomorrow and want to know whatís the best location to install it, going to drill and tap a hole but just donít know where, will i need to take the turbo off the manifold to do so ? or just drill and tap with it on, does anyone have any photos of their egt sensor probe? any help would be appreciated, cheers!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 20-10-2019, 12:03 PM
bods's Avatar
bods bods is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orelia, WA
Posts: 4,922
Default

Have you got a stock exhaust or aftermarket? I put mine in the dump pipe just before the cat converter when I had my stock exhaust on and just drilled it and used the hose clamp thing the Autometer ones come with. Had no issues and only changed it because I changed the exhaust.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 21-10-2019, 03:07 AM
tristan.martin564 tristan.martin564 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: port augusta
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bods View Post
Have you got a stock exhaust or aftermarket? I put mine in the dump pipe just before the cat converter when I had my stock exhaust on and just drilled it and used the hose clamp thing the Autometer ones come with. Had no issues and only changed it because I changed the exhaust.


nah currently the cars stock standard but doing some upgrades on it and thought iíd chuck a egt and boost gauge on it just incase. was watching a youtube video and they showed drilling a hole into the manifold and tapping a thread into it. got the SAAS brand gauges


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 21-10-2019, 12:23 PM
bods's Avatar
bods bods is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orelia, WA
Posts: 4,922
Default

You could drill the manifold, but all those metal shavings will end up in the turbo unless you remove it. Some guys have removed the EGR pipe completely and got a decent sized plate made up to cover the end where it connects to the exhaust manifold and put the probe in there. How accurate their readings are I couldn't say, I've only ever had mine after the turbo.

Does your SaaS egt gauge go all the way down to 0 degrees? I know some of them only go down as low as 300 which is still too hot for a diesel, unless you're only worried about temps above that.

As far as boost goes, I've got mine teed into the wastegate line between the turbo housing and wastegate actuator. Stock they get around 17-18psi from there. These yd25 motors in the D22 haven't got a boost sensor of any description on them so unless you drill and tap the manifold or intercooler that's the only way to get a boost reading.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 24-10-2019, 06:07 AM
GGD22's Avatar
GGD22 GGD22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Queensland
Posts: 29
Default

This is mine i did a few weeks ago, average temp is about 250-300 gets up to 500-600 going up a hill

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 28-10-2019, 02:32 PM
tristan.martin564 tristan.martin564 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: port augusta
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGD22 View Post
This is mine i did a few weeks ago, average temp is about 250-300 gets up to 500-600 going up a hill

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk


looks good, going to pay a local business to install mine. got them all wired and boost gauge works, egt just lights up but doesnít show any temps til i get it ran properly. cheers everyone for the help!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 29-10-2019, 01:11 AM
GGD22's Avatar
GGD22 GGD22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Queensland
Posts: 29
Default

Thats how i did mine for while, youll be happy with it when it all works

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:21 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |