Go Back   The Navara Forum > D22 > D22 Wheels, Tyres, & Brakes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

ABS Sensor Cable
  #1  
Old 08-03-2012, 05:18 AM
camk's Avatar
camk camk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne,Victoria
Posts: 59
My Mood:
Garage
Default ABS Sensor Cable

Hi,

I just noticed the ABS brake sensor cable has broken.
Does anyone know if i can just reattach or do i need to get a whole new sensor cable?

Cheers
__________________
2011 D22 STR (White) Ironman Shocks, 32" Mickey Thompson MTZ, Roh wheels, TX3520 GME UHF, 2 Inch Lift, Brown Davis Underbody Protection, Narva HID 225 lights...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 08-03-2012, 09:36 AM
Old.Tony's Avatar
Old.Tony Old.Tony is offline
rotartsinimdA
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 12,422
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Nissan will sell you a new sensor cable. I haven't pulled mine apart but I've just consulted the manual and there are only two wires involved.

My recommendation (if you don't want to buy new ones) is to thoroughly clean the wires, prepare some heatshrink and slide it along the wire, clean-solder the breaks back together then slide the heatshrink down over the solder. If you've cleaned it properly and used the right size heatshrink tubing, you won't need to worry about the ingress of debris or water to cause problems with the joint.
__________________

Check out the FAQs by clicking here!

Visit the Australian National Navara Muster website: www.navaramuster.com.au

Muster sponsors - please support:
ARB, Forefront Industries, Tough Toys, Zordo's 4WD Suspension, 4WD Systems, Avenger 4X4,
Opposite Lock Narrelan, Opposite Lock Penrith, Harrop/Eaton E-Locker,
Seldom Seen Vehicles & Engineering, Ultimate Suspension, Berrima Diesel


"You can't fix stupid. Leave it be, and stupid will eventually fix itself - just stand clear while it does what evolution makes inevitable."
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-03-2012, 10:05 AM
Leprechaun Leprechaun is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,740
My Mood:
Default

Bad recommendation.

You need a new one. Try Nizzbits.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-03-2012, 02:56 PM
joshman's Avatar
joshman joshman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Happy-Rock, QLD
Posts: 1,591
Garage
Default

i'd personally try to re-join the cable, but i'd also be finding out why it broke in teh first place.
__________________


Too much to write here, so go check out my Garage!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:52 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |