White smoke from tailpipe

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all I'm still new to the diesel vehicles.

A few questions if some of you can answer for me would be appreciated.

These D40's tend to blow smoke at low revs, some black and some I've seen white/blue colour.

With the very cold weather we are having I 've seen some blow a small amount of white coloured smoke at start up.

From what I can see these D40's run a little rich down low and I think this contibutes to the smoke.

White smoke is oil burning , unburnt diesel when first started in the morning in cold weather or overfueling?

Black smoke overfueling or not burning fuel correctley?

Manual or automatic is there a big difference?

I'm taking guesses here.

white on cold start up could simply be one dead glow plug or poor injector.
white/blue smoke is most likely turbo leaking oil into he exhaust.

black smoke is unlikely over fueling (unless chipped), more likely to much EGR or fuel not burning well (poor injectors) or simply from crap fuel.

I couldn't say it better.

If there are clouds of blue smoke there might be a more serious problem, like stuck or worn piston rings, intake valve guide wear/seals ... that's not the sort of damage you'd expect to see in a diesel engine in its early life (<100,000km) unless it was seriously flogged. You haven't indicated the age of this vehicle or how much blue smoke you're seeing.

There might be some visible steam on startup - the combustion process emits several gases but since diesel is a hydrocarbon that is being burnt in air, part of the output is H20 which at normal temperatures you can't see because it's so hot, but at cold temperatures the water molecules coalesce and will be visible as steam.