Buying a D40

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mitch79

Reaction score
Hi Guys

As you can see by the title im looking to buy a second hand D40 and would like some advice.

Im new to 4wd, only had a couple of hrs off roading, and it really was only soft sand not the real thing, but this will change.

So what to look for and what are the pro and cons of each:
TD or the V6.
auto or manual
what year
euro or asian

Anything else you guys can think of?

It will mainly be drivin around town with the odd weekend down the beach/off road as i like to fish and surf, towing will be minimal but will happen on occasion.

Thanks for your advice.

Mitch

I have NO regrets getting my D40 2.5td (Thai) 6spd Manual. In fairness, i havnt driven an auto version, or even been near a petrol version.

I now have 21,000 km's on the clock in nearly 10 months.

My car is mostly used on the black stuff, but i keep looking for oportunitees to take the family camping so i can get my car dirty. i've been on about 4 serious off-road ventures with my car now (beach and dirt/rocks/water) and apart from low clearance as std, the car performed like a trooper - its my driving skills off road that need to catch up with the cars off-road capabilities. (oh, and the lift kit will help too - in about 4 weeks time).

I'm not sure there's a whole load of real difference between the Spanish and Thai builds that ought to affect your choice. The ST (Thai) has some features the ST-X (Spanish) doesn't have and vice versa.