Replacing intercooler piping

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justdrinkbeer

Reaction score
Was under the bonnet the other day after driving & noticed the intercooler-engine rubber pipe thing (not a mechanic) was bloody hot, not surprising seeing as it sits atop the engine.
Anyway, it got me thinking its kind of defeating the object of the intercooler (which baffles me enough), and maybe replacing it would be a good idea, maybe even a pipe within a pipe with some sort of insulation between would be a good idea.
Then I thought I might be pissing in the breeze though as the air will be flying through that pipe so quick that it won't have time to heat up.
Perhaps a hard pipe would be less restrictive too? I don't know.
Any opinions would be good, i'm not a mechanic so a fair bit of my ideas have been formulated after a few bevvies.

Hard pipe is the way to go for sure. Probably wont help with cooling but sure makes a difference to throttle response, my standard hose expanded like a balloon on boost.

There's another advantage to using a hard pipe. A plastic pipe under heat will soften and a restriction in the air intake could cause the pipe to contract.

I also doubt that the heat will have a lot of effect on the air, but do think that replacing the straight sections of pipe with metal will probably serve to remove any concerns about the pipe causing a constriction.

I'm sure some auto performance shops would sell the stuff, failing that you'd surely get some from someone that manufactures intercoolers.

Is there anything that isn't on ebay?
Now then, is there any advantage in getting piping that is bigger than the rubber stuff i've got? And do i get it welded or are the silicone joiners ok?