Navara 4WD warning light dilemma

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zackman

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have recently purchased a 2012 Navara ST Spain built vehicle. Since owning it I have discovered that 4WD does not seem to engage. When switching to 4H it illuminates all wheels on the instrument cluster for a second or two then goes blank and the 4WD warning light comes on and stays on until which time I turn the vehicle off and then back on.

I have done basic research into suggested fault and a lot of people mention blinking warning lights. This is just solidly illuminated.

Can anyone offer suggestions? I have investigated the plugs on the transfer case and they all seem to be clean and intact. Pictures would be a huge help as I am relatively new to 4WD's.

Cheers,

Zack

OBD2 scan tool may give you some information, could be a solenoid as mentioned above or sensor. Have you checked whether it actually is in 4wd when you flick it over ?

Gday guys. I have checked that it is not engaging 4WD. I will take it to a mechanic and get them to suss it out. Was just hoping that I could eliminate some possibilities before I resorted to paying someone.

Sounds like the wait sensor inside the transfer case. Not a common failure point but it's happened a couple of times. There's a sensor (switch) which detects that the gearbox has engaged or disengaged the drive to the front axle. If this switch fails, the servo starts its motion, the pawls slide into place and 4WD engages, but the switch never changes state so the car thinks something is wrong in the transfer case and alerts you by disengaging 4WD (the servo returns to normal position) and bringing on the 4WD light.

The wait sensor (wait detection switch is its proper name) is under the box at the rear behind the large mating face and somewhat to the left of the axis of the front drive shaft.