Project FrankenStout

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FrankenStout

Reaction score
Hi guys, new member introduction - my name is James, from Whyalla, South Australia. Im a mechanical engineer at the OneSteel Steelworks. Im generally a bit of a toyota nut, I own 3 other toyotas including a JZA70 supra, and LN130 Hilux, but a while back picked up something a little different. So ive signed up to introduce what could perhaps be a contender for most unique Navara on your site...

Sometimes, a vehicle pops up that you just have to buy. Noticed this thing sitting on the side of the road with a for sale sign, did a bit of a double take and stopped for a look...

Introducing - Project Frankenstout!

201204081123202.jpg

At first appearances, shes a '67 RK100 Toyota Stout. But for some reason the stance isnt quite right... Turns out shes actually a '67 Stout cab, sitting on an '86 Nissan chassis and drivetrain. My main issue is I still havent been able to identify if it is a D21 or 720. It came with two unaffixed build plates in the glove box, one of each, just to add to the confusion.

I am hoping this site will be able to provide me with the info I need - I am completely new to Nissan ownership but have begun researching the D21 platform.

She is powered by the mighty Nissan SD25 diesel coupled to a 5 speed box. As long as you dont want to get anywhere in a hurry, the little thing slugs along alright. She actually makes quite a decent little offroad vehicle, I am new to Navara ownership but I am quite impressed.

201206201704352.jpg

201204121638582.jpg

20120415151210.jpg

All in all, it is quite a nice conversion done by the previous owner. It utilises all the navara running gear, including brake booster, clutch master, power steering, which have been graphted on to the Stout cab.