Engine light on but runs fine?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adam79

Reaction score
hi all, my names adam, im from maitland in nsw and ive been on the forum for awhile now and l have learnt quite abit about my navara.
this is my first time posting as i have been through every page of the d40 threads and havent found anything to help yet.

i have a 07 auto nav and so far after reading on here about the egr mod i have done mine and was rather impressed with the results, i even did my mates navara.

anyway i just bought a CHIPIT chip from a mates mate that sold his navara (which was a 07 auto) he had the chip set on setting 7, ive installed the chip and its amazing the difference it makes but after a few drives ive got a engine light on...

the car has not gone limp it just has a light on.i've reset afew times but keeps happening. i thought maybe setting 7 may be to high for my car so i disconnected the chip till i can borrow a mates laptop to go to a lower setting. but after 2 days of no chip the light has come on again?

is there a way to do a diagnostic on the nav without buying a tool (in a commodore yuo can use a paper clip).

could this be chip related since its doing it without the chip now?
could it be as simple as not having reset the service reminder after doing my own services?

Mate there are quite a few people on here in your area who probably have the scan tools so I'd try and tee up a meeting with them to see what the code is.

From reading on here it may be the egr block that's causing the light. How long have you had it blocked for? Quite a few people have had to drill a hole in their plate. Maybe take the plate out and drive it for a few days and see if the light comes back again?

ok cool i thought it was more the 550 stx v6 motor that needed the hole in it but might be worth a look,