Engine Squeak

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Black beast

Reaction score
Hey fellas,

I am hearing a problem with the engine everytime I turn it or off. Sometimes if goes away and sometimes it doesn't. At first I though it was a queaky fan belt but I've just had a look at it and it seems that's not the case. Any ideas of what is could be?

Cheers, Cookey.

Well the poof noise if you look at the butterfly vacuum housing on top of manifold. This releases then you turn the engine off, and you will hear a gently pop/poof noise. Get someone to turn the engine off while you view.

as for squeak, not sure what you mean

Cheers mate I'll have a look. I'm a complete novice at all this engine stuff, but I hooked on learing everything I can at the moment :)

What model engine? Zd30 or yd25? Sure it's from engine?

Just noticed your from rocky as well.

ZD30 mate. And in all honesty I don't know. It started the other day when I put it in to get a full body detail and they cleaned the engine bay (lots of mud there from a few adventures). I though it may have been the fan belt from the shit they sprayed on it but the belt stops as soon as the engine is cut and the noise keeps going for a good 2 or so seconds after the engine it cut.

Then I thought it may have been the turbo, but i turned the car on and off so I could have a look at it, it still made the noise with no throttle which means no spool so I've ruled that out as well.

Now I'm just confused so I asked you guys haha.

Yeah I'm a Rocky boy :) should plan a trip sometime.

The turbo is spinning whenever the engine is running even if it's not spinning fast enough to make much boost ie not spooling, so it spins even at idle and slightly after engine is shut down, don't rule it out just because of no throttle application.