Get a Job

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nevyn

Reaction score
So the boss wants me to get a real job! For those who don't know me I am a self employed plumber/ gas fitter. I have never had to chase work, I don't advertise apart from the Yellow pages and I don't know what it is like to be "quiet". BUT, we haven't had a decent holiday I'm ten years and my f#%#^n phone rings at any time of the day or night 24/7. My super is shit, I'm gonna have to work until I'm ninety so I can pay the bills. I know I will miss the cash flow (because I don't really have money/savings, it's technically borrowed) but I know I can earn good money working for the man. Has anyone here gone from working for themselves back to working for the man? Can it be done? So many pros, I know the cons!

Cheers Brad

hi brad
I went from10 yrs as a subcontractor, chasing my own work and working when I needed,to working in an aluminium smelter "chasing someone elses dream''
the security of a perm gig where the paycheck just keeps coming is great but dealing with the same idiots every day can wear you down
I wish I was still doing my own thing, I hate being regimented,and brainwashed
maybe its time to drag one of them young fellas out of the surf and slap him round the head with a job?
buy another house for your super?
and keep doing what YOU want to do
goodluck mate

Last edited:
I made the change 12 weeks ago,

I had been sub contracting too for 6 years, plenty of work, lots of money, all good, but with the mines just getting so slow, work was drying up, I still had work but the rate had dropped as so many others out there chasing willing to work for less.

I got a staff job with a HUGE Oz mining company, good hours etc, but the pay sucks compared to what I had, the other side is no more BAS, PAYG, workers Comp etc.