QD32 identification

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carlosbeldia

Reaction score
Good day, I'm a newbie in the forum looking for some information on the QD32. Im from Colombia and have a turbo QD32 (non intercooled) in my Y60 Patrol. While in an off road competition, my engine got really hot and blew up its head gasket and damaged badly the head itself. I bought a new head and put it but the engine never was again the same. Lots of smoke, really low in power and torque. We decided to torn the engine apart and check it. Found pistons rings bearing everything was in bad condition, but not for the overheating but for really crappy building work.... bolts were out of torque everywhere and lots of stuff of low quality vendors.

We proceeded to buy new pistons, bearings, valve, sleeves, etc... everything was sent to a rectifier shop and then assembled with all the measures and torque figures we found in a 1997 manual. The car made around 100 km pretty well and then suddenly it started to climb temperature. double checked everything and after finding nothing wrong we took it out and torned it apart again. Everything was sent again to 3 different rectifier workshops and everything was Ok. Temp was rising due to leaks between cylinders 1 and 2, and 3 and 4. I read a little and found we should have changed the head bolts, which actually is pretty expensive here so we have to found another way.