Reliable tow truck??

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sundowner2

Reaction score
G'day all, I'm quite new to Navara ownership, brought a 2012 D40 RX Thai built 2.5L TD Crew Cab in January.
As 'grey nomads' we brought this ute to tow our caravan around, we spend some 5 or 6 months of each year on the road...our 'van is a Jayco Outback Poptop and weighs in at a little less than 2 tonne, the Navara tows it ok, it is better than the old Rodeo that it replaced anyway. So far we have added about 6000km to it and am quite happy....but; I have been reading up on some reliability issues with the Thai built models...as far as I can see mine has been assembled very well and can say honestly that I am unable to fault it...I am aware that early failure of the single row timing chain has been an issue and mine is auto so the early clutch failure issues wont concern me.
I intend to have it serviced by Nissan at least up until the new car warranty expires anyway.....my purpose of this posting is to just see if these vehicles can be considered reliable, we intend to do some remote country travel later this year. I accept that it is possible that the Thai built versions might not be as good as the Japanese models but are they all that bad?
Previous vehicles have been a Jeep Cherokee (excellent truck but costly to maintain) and a RA Rodeo LPG crewcab which performed almost faultlessly for 170k km, in other words we are used to having vehicles we can reasonably expect to bring us home.
Any comments regarding things to be aware of appreciated.

There are a number of us that do a fair bit of towing, but I don't think this is even really a "towing" question. It's more of a "will the car make it back" question.