Starting issues d40

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

butty

Reaction score
Hi I'm a newbie, hello to everyone firstly !! Could I ask a question about my navara Stx 2006 d40 ? For a while now it is having a starting issue!!!
Only in the morning I turn the key to start it and it revs to the idle speed then drops out straight away !! To start it I have to keep going thru the key process for maybe 6,7,8 goes before it starts then it's fine all day until it does it again maybe a week, 2 weeks etc. I just want to ask the forum if anybody else has experienced this?
Thanks for having me cheers

Welcome. a little more info is helpful. Is your car Thai built or Spanish and how many klm have you done. It could be fuel related. Next time it does it, pump the fuel primer and see if it is hard. It should be. If not you have an air leak in the system.
Secondly check all the earth leads. Battery to body/motor and there are a few in the engine bay near the ecu and other electrical items.
Have you ever had the timing chain replaced?

Clean your MAF sensor, then do a fuel pump reset. If that won't fix it get a new scv. Once it stalls pop the bonnet and use the hand primer bulb, it's near the silver cylinder left hand side. I'd say it's not priming properly.

When i first bought my nav i nearly to it back because it was doing this..
May be completly different but do you wait for your glow plug light to turnoff before kicking it over?
I wasnt and that what it did yo me on every start

His is an 06 model so it wont have a priming bulb it will have an old style pump on top of the filter and the 06 also has twin filters. One on the passenger side and one on the drivers side...
And yes glowing a diesel is a must....