TD27 motor to replace QD32 motor

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andy g

Reaction score
G'day everyone. I am a new member and so I say HELLO to all of you.

I have owned an old Navara for a loong time, and want to say that I am Very happy with it - BUT it has rusted badly (years parked in ocean spray at my old work site).

I am considering buying a 1998 duel cab Navara with a damaged QD32 engine, and replacing that engine with the one from my 1987 duel cab Navara which has a TD 27 motor. Can I replace the QD 32 motor with a TD 27? There are no obvious differences between the cars that I can see, but I am not a mechanic!! There may be problems with engine mounts and bell housing/clutch /shaft, clearances etc, and everything else.
Any advice would be good.
Andy

Andy,

Get in touch with your state's road authority to check if you can fit a TD27 to a D22 utility. Chances are they'll say no but there may be ways around it, you need to look at what ADR the TD27 complies with and what ADR the QD32 complies with, they might be the same but I'd never bank on it.

Physically you can do the swap, I've done the swap in the other direction. Especially if the two cars are sitting side by side while you swap.

A blown engine QD32 would be pretty rare to come across.

As for why you'd want to put the wheezy TD27 into something fitted with a QD32, well that's your choice! :sarcastic:

Thanks to both Dion and Dave.

Dion, I have spent hours on the net reading about ADRs, state VSB14s, VLand Ms, and have talked to state approved engineers. I have sent off the form "Application to modify a vehicle" which will be a starting point in what I suspect will be a long correspondence with authorities.
It all looks promising!