What DSLR to buy with my Reward points?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robmacca

Reaction score
Hey Guys.....

We're heading out to Lake Eyre later on this year & I need to replace out old compact digital for something that will do us for a long time to come.... Looking at DSLR's this time around.

Thinking of redeeming our Credit Card Reward Points via a Gift Card to use at either Dick Smiths or Harvey Normans.... Should have about $1100 or so once we redeem the points and I don't mind adding some $$ to get the right DSLR that will suit us into the future....
(Forgot to Mention: - I'm a beginner when it comes to photography)

Some of the things that I would like in a Camera:

- 2 batteries
- 2 Lenses that will suit most situations
- In-camera panorama stitch feature
- Good No of frames per second
- Built-in GPS - Optional
- HD Movie option

I was wondering if anyone had experience with any of these cameras listed below?
It's between a Canon - Nikon - Sony

I want to use it for general photography around home / on holidays / sporting or spedd events + if I ever get the desire to do a photography course, I would like a camera that will that need + more experience over time....

List of Camera's on Offer:

Dick Smiths CAMERAS:

CANON EOS 550D Digital SLR Twin IS Lens Kit $1296
CANON EOS550D SLR 2L Kit BLK 18-55mm & 55-250mm Lenses $946
CANON EOS 1100D DSLR 2 Lens (non-IS) Kit $698
CANON EOS 1100D dSLR with 2 Image Stabiliser Lenses, Black $798
CANON EOS 1100D DSLR Family Kit $698
CANON EOS 600D dSLR Camera Twin Lens Kit $1048
CANON EOS60D DSLR Single Lens Kit $1246

NIKON D3100 DSLR VR Twin Lens Kit $893
NIKON D5100 dSLR Twin Lens Kit $1187

================================================== ===
HARVEY NORMAN Cameras:

Canon EOS 1100D DSLR Camera Black - Single IS Lens 18-55mm $649
Canon EOS 1100D DSLR IS Twin Lens Kit $999