Intercooler for 2003 ZD30

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oldie

Reaction score
I got a Nav 3 litre turbo diesel motor which appears to have been originally built without an intercooler and if there is one somewhere in the engine bay I'm buggered if I can see it. It all looks original to me.
Now I'm still learning about the nav's so, my question is, if the vehicle wasn't made with an intercooler, is there a reason why I should have one fitted now.

You are correct, they never had one from the factory.

Benefits of fitting one are slightly lower exhaust gas temps, slightly more power and torque due to cooler intake charge temps and it will catch any bits of turbo, if it happens to let go, before they go into the engine...

As above. Main reason I fitted the inter cooler to my 04 model 3L was for highway towing to keep temps exhaust temps lower and if the turbo ever goes pop it isnt going through the top end. As a plus the bonnet scoop looks good too.

And before you drop any coin on one, have a look at the forefront intercooler - they seem to be the ducks nuts & are a great price.

turbo diesels love intercooling.
the patrol/terrnao ZD30 comes with intercooler. with the navara nissan cheaped out.
and no the patrol one won't easily fit and its prone to cracking anyway.

I've been looking at the forefront winch version intercooler but I'm not sure how much butchery I'd have to do to fit it. I don't have a winch so does it just bolt on without any cutting.
I also don't know how old the turbo is so been thinking of the forefront replacement.
All ya tips would be welcome.

Yep, they have designed them to bolt straight in with no mods required. Same with the turbo...

I've got both a big front mount kit and a billet turbo from FFI fitted to my 03 ZD30.
Highly recommend both from an ease of fitting point of view.