D40 Intercooler kit - DIY

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shaunus88

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Decided this week that now the Nav is running as it should it has motivated me to do something exciting with it.

I work in sales in the mining industry in the Goldfields, WA. I have access to some of the best steel prices in the country so made sense to do this DIY. So far I have spent $150 and have a massive box full of polished S/S 2 1/2" and 3" elbows. Love the perks of my job.

Have decided to make a custom intercooler/intake kit for the D40.

What I have chosen to go with:

Am using 304 grade S/S for all the piping and the intake. Will be keeping this system as stock looking as possible. Will be following the exact same routes the factory piping takes. Could have all this powder coated black for the 100% factory look but I honestly love the look of polished S/S so will be keeping it like that.

Welds will not be done by myself as I want them to be perfect. One of the guys who is a coded welder at work will be doing all the welds by TIG for the super clean look.

For the intercooler core itself I will be going a generic 450x300x76mm core with 2 1/2" outlets. There is no need to blow loads of cash on this as what's good enough for my mates 1000hp maloo is good enough for my <200hp nav :)

For the hose tails I will be going with brass at this stage until I go and suss out a few of the hydraulic suppliers in town and see if there is a better alternative...IE a weld on h/tail etc. It's been a while since I've had to supply them so unsure of what's available.

I have a few more things to chase up before I can get underway on this.

- Intercooler core - 450x300x76mm
- Silicone joiners/reducer - Ordering now
- Clamps - Ordering now
- Fittings for misc. hoses
- 1m of 2 1/2" S/S 304 thin walled pipe
- 1m of 3" S/S 304 thin walled pipe