1999 D22 Towing upgrade?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Juz63

Reaction score
Hi folks, I'm a D22 Newbie. Just bought an old but very serviceable 3.2 (japanese) with 135,000k's on the clock. V. Happy so far! However, after looking high and low on the net I have finally found the sticker in the front drivers side door (not before buying) which proclaims my towing capacity as 1.8T as opposed to 2.8 which I originally found in my search. I have a 2T tipping trailer which weighs 780k all on it's own with a pretty high Weight at the ball too. I think part of the confusion is from the fact that it (the car) was first reg in 2000, so I was looking at capacities for 2000 models not '99.... Anywho, my question is this. Can anyone tell me why there seems to be a jump in capacity (or did I just settle on some erroneous info)? Or why the capacity is so low for these earlier models/ what work needs to be done to up the rating? Is it Lowauthe chasis is weaker than required or because it's got drums on the back not discs. or because the motor is not considered strong enough? Or what? Did they just review criteria and change them after 2000? I'm stumped. Is there anything I can do without too much fuss to improve legal tow capacity? Thanks in advance for anyone who can shed some light on my problem.

Everything I can find on the 99 model shows 1500kg towing braked.
The 2000 S3 (released 06/2000) is listed as 2000kg braked.

The rating is purely done by the manufacturer. It can not be altered after first rego.
ARB does offer a kit for Toyota Landcruisers to increase CGM/Towing capacity but needs to be fitted before first Rego.
Not much help.... sorry.