D22 zd30 engine blown - what to do?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
yeah rum i'd like to see and video it for "us" here! He is thinking of looking at it Sunday so I'll do my best to get over to him!

i doubt the catch can position has anything to do with it, its been like that for some time now. drove up to maldon and back over the long weekend and barely any more oil sitting in the pepsi bottle. But i will be pulling the turbo elbow off shortly to see if thats whats gone on me, seems a bit weird to suddenly go kaboom on me when its been running fine for so long. Turbos a cheap ebay unit, only 15,000 or so on it - i'll be kicking myself if thats the cause because i've been putting off installing an intercooler for a few months now...

And in other news, i've hit the button on a used engine for $3000 with 145,000km on the clock. seems like a bargain to me, and i'm really suss on whats caused the engine to go bang so having all the hang-offs is going to give me some piece of mind. And i've just remembered that an old mate of mine is a Nissan mechanic, how in f#@%s name did i forget that when my engine went kaboom!?!?

Stay tuned for more pictures of whats gone bang as i pull it down and eventually replace it...

So out with the old, but not quite in with the new yet. Some dummy didn't think about clutches until Saturday and wasn't able to get one when I found I needed it on Sunday.

Clutch is ready now, new motor sitting in front of the car and waiting to be dropped in.

Started pulling everything off the old motor, looks like piston 3 is the issue, but not that much oil going out the exhaust, it's all around the intake.

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1430383062574.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1430383062574.jpg
    57.1 KB · Views: 113
Well done ! Good to hear you have it sorted ! How did you go with the pic's of the tear down. cheers vic