CRD and fuel contamination

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shooster

Reaction score
Hello Navara lovers. As a newbie I thought I would share a recent experience that should serve as a warning to all owners of common rail diesels.
I live in Broome WA, several months ago I drove to perth stopping every 350 - 450kms for fuel. After refueling at a 24hr depot I had only driven 50kms before the car stared to lose power and run quite rough. Eventually clearing it's self I continued on to perth. On arriving there the Water in Fuel warning light came on, not good I thought.
I took the car to a Nissan Service centre where they removed the fuel tank, flushed and cleaned the fuel lines and replaced the filter. On starting the car the engine had a loud diesel "knock".

I was informed that I had to replace the injectors, fuel pump and common rail at a cost of $10,000.

At the time of writing I am waiting on parts to be delivered to Broome.
I am considering installing a water trap filter similar to the one on my boat, in front of the standard filter as I dont want to have this happen again and with living in the bush the chances of picking up dirty fuel is pretty good.

In case you are wondering, I contacted the fuel company concerned and informed them of above.....as you would expect they denied having dirty fuel and told me basically to bugger off....

So beware, CRD are not as forgiving as Direct injection engines when it comes to fuel contamination.

I'm a bit puzzled by the fact that you got that terminal knock AFTER they cleaned out the entire system....

mate if you kept your reciept for the fuel you have a good chance of claiming
i would follow it up further
i never pay cash for my diesel ,always use a card,that way i have proof of purchase
goodluck
sparra

Thanks Sparra.