New to forum interested in getting a Navara

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alec

Reaction score
Hello everyone this is my first post on the forum after having a look around.
Okay so im a Plumber and I drive a vs ute which is a pain in the ass for work. Ive been looking around at some 2005 D40 ST-X duel cabs. I will put a tray and boxes on the back and probably in the end carry around 250+ kilo. Ive been reading about a few problems with the Navaras and I would like to know if this is the car for me. Auto or manual im not fussed and I was thinking of getting 2.5L TD.

can you guys help me out please!

Thank you, Alec

Welcome to the forum, Alec.

The 2005/2006 D40s will probably have a few km under them so I'd be looking at their timing chains. Manuals were fitted with dual-mass flywheels and if not converted to single-mass flywheel with a HD clutch, they can chew through clutches (depends on driving style, load, terrain).

Rear springs won't handle much more than 150kg. You can get dual-rate springs for the rear which really make a difference.

Other than that, they're good workhorses. Expect around 12-14LPHK in the city loaded for work, around 10LPHK on the highway (standard-ish tyre sizes - if you go larger, you use more fuel).

Good luck with your search!

Thank you this is helpful, ive found an 05 auto 180xxx on the clock im going to have a look at on Monday. Hopefully all goes well. Is there anything to look out for when i drive it or inspect it in particular with an auto?