Newby question

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeteV

Reaction score
G'day all, I am an absolute newby and not sure if I even belong on the forum. I'm seriously considering purchasing either a new/near new d22 or possibly a 2008-upwards with low kms and a few options. I'm looking for some advice, I'm wary of buying 2nd hand as with most I don't know how it's been thrashed around. But on the other hand am keen to inherit a loved one that's been raised a few inches, has an ARB bullbar, towbar and some improvements in the shocks Dept, etc. I'm just a humble family guy with 2 young kids that wants to use it for its ute capabilities (occasionally), drive it to work and as a weekend warrior to do some more serious stuff than the new X Trail (ST-L 4WD petrol) we have currently. Lotsa questions I know but I'm trying my way around the maze and don't want to make a mistake. I'm not looking to go to Kakadu or anything but am keen to be able to do things like beach, Bendethera and stuff like that. Am I looking for the wrong car? I just really like the look of the STR. Oh, and I like the fuel efficiency of it. Last silly qn: what does a chip do? Would I need one? Sorry, that's 2 :)

welcome mate
family guy with 2 kids
sounds like you need a d40
not much room in the back of a d22

Last edited:
Thanks for the welcome. Nah, I want a D22. Kids are 6 and 12 and small in stature by nature. Me and wife in front OK. Most likely the boys will be going bush on the weekends whilst wifey relaxes at home. During the week just me dropping off the kids and on my own to work. So an STR will be fine. So the question remains as is :) And from what I've read and understood, the D40 is lower to the ground, and I like the fact they originate in Japan. When exactly did the manufacture change from Japan to Thailand? Or do I have that wrong? Luxury is not necessary. Cheers.