questions about Modifying the d22 diesel

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StockAppy

Reaction score
Hello all,

i own a 2004s2 d22 3l diesel,

i have purchased a 3inch exhaust incl dump,
currently having an intercooler kit made for it,
and plan on putting it on diesel gas injection,

Im no stranger to modifying turbo petrol cars however i have no experience with diesel.

My main question is, is there anyone in Adelaide that can tune it properly after these mods have been done?
does anyone else have experience with how much the internals can take power wise until heavier duty rods etc need to be put in? what is the weak part of the d22 engine?
should i be looking for new injectors or any other fuel system parts? fuel pump etc? im new to the diesel world and would love to hear from anyone with experience in doing this or in these areas. thankyou

theres not a lot of tuning done. you buy an add on chip that you can adjust power, check it on dyno if you wish but otherwise its just a matter of keeping EGT's down below piston melting temp.

first thing to do is to fit boost and EGT gauges.

one weak part is the turbo.
no need to change injections. fuel system is more than cable of pouring in enough diesel.

the main thing is keeping egt's from being to high. keep intake cool, enough boost for the fuel, fuel needs to be clean and good air supply (filter, snorkel).

No worries,
ill make sure i keep that in mind. thankyou.

do you think the gas injection with the diesel would keep things cool enough?

what is the rough standard exhaust gas temp on a d22 and what would be too much?

what sort of AF ratio is suitable for a diesel or for that matter a gas diesel mixture on a navara?

cheers

Last edited: