welding tips and tricks

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sparks

Reaction score
Hi guys and girls,
There are some pretty skilled welders and fabricators floating around this forum and i was wondering if they could share some wisdom.

i'm a poor student getting my chippy qualification but i am keen to try my hand at welding, partly because i have drawn up some plans for a tube bar on the front and a nice flatdeck tray for the rear of my '87 d21.
so is spending $2-300 on a cheap mig a waste of money or can they still get alright results?
what sort of amperage will i need to be able to weld some 6mm+ steel. is the 150amp welder i have found for a good price going to weld solid brackets and mounts or is it not going to penetrate thick steel.
and is MIG the way to go or is arc or tig worth a crack? mig is all i have tried and i picked it up quickly enough but im far from proficient.
are there any cheap welders anyone has in their shed that they would recommend?

im right at the start of this little project and im not about to start bolting dodgy lumps of metal to my truck but i would rather invest money in learning to weld than dropping 2g on a custom tray on my 4 thousand dollar ute and learning nothing in the process.

any advice would be sweet thanks

My advice is never weld in shorts if you need to be crouched down, such antics ended not so good for my old neighbour.

150A isn't really enough mumbo for 6mm. 180-200 is the go, but you'll need a 15A circuit/socket to safely run it, Try and find a secondhand WIA, ESAB,CIG branded machine, thy will go forever and parts/consumables are easy to get. I would also recommend using .8mm wire.

Last edited: