Fuel return pressure switch/sensor?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sharknado

Reaction score
G'day everyone,

I moved to Cairns last year and 4WD is just what we do up here so I bought me a used 2012 D22 with the YD25 and it's been a great ute for the past 8 months. However when I was leaving work yesterday everything went to shit.

First, it wouldn't start, it would crank but not fire. Priming the fuel filter could get it to idle as long as you kept pumping it and then would sputter out if you stopped. So being fairly new and under warranty, I had it towed to the dealership where I bought it.

So the mechanic called and told me the fuel return pressure switch (or sensor?) had shit itself because my engine had been chipped. To repair it, the whole fuel rail needed to be replaced and of course wouldn't be covered under warranty. I'm new to diesels so really have no idea what any of this means so hoping someone could help me out!

1. Does this even make sense??? (I'm not really convinced)

2. Since I bought it with the chip already installed and was never told about it, is there a way to go after the dealership to cover the repair bills?

Cheers in advance

-Brian

If it is actually chipped and they sold it to you without telling you then they have to cover it... If it works fine when you pump the primer try changing the fuel filter first. Or even removing and refitting it as it doesn't take much for the seal to leak and let air in, which will cause the problems you are having.....

Fuel rail would be the last thing I would suspect. The problem is they just plug the computer in and it supposedly tells them what's wrong, but there could be another problem that it causing that fault......