Holy crap I bought a d22 zd30 New member

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

memo

Reaction score
Just wanted to say gday as i have bought a 2002 d22 zd30 Navara st-r, used this forum to help me when buying so thanks to all the great forums threads on here. My Nav has a custom tray back, Coopers STT bull bar, bought it for a family car but camping, surfing, towing boat, and dog in the back car too. done 183km from what i gather i am 3rd owner, has service history and seems to run pretty nicely, though the Coopers a pretty damn loud thats for sure.

I did buy from a dealer who stated they went over the car in work shop, i have noticed oil leaking from maybe a hose at back of engine, car is heading to mechanics tomorrow for diagnoses, its not on the turbo looking into the bonnet its around the rear left side of engine in the upper area, i am no mechanic and i know more about outboards than Diesels. Hoping i'm not up for rear main or big end, my engine oil is as new tea colour but the oil leak is black so not making much sense to me, any help would be appreciated, the oil is pooling in between gear box and sump, on the cross bar.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

The black oil you're seeing might just be blow-by coming from a leaking PCV (positive crankcase ventilation) hose. This hose is connected from an exit at the top of the motor at the rear, to the air intake tube just forward of the turbocharger. Blow-by produced during combustion is passed back through the intake to fully combust anything in the gas and then pass the result out through the exhaust, rather than dumping the emissions directly to air inside the engine bay.

Fitting a catch can (and ensuring that the hoses are all in good repair) is a good move.